Notices
Tech Talk Anything technically related to your vehicle should be posted here. If you're looking to have work done, try one of the Regional Forums.

KA24 Questions. Need a bit of help/info.

Old 08-17-2007, 09:16 PM
Doin it in the dirt.

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
TWOFAWTY has disabled reputation
Default KA24 Questions. Need a bit of help/info.

Just bought a '90 240SX fastback, five-speed, KA24E.

Question, is there any difference in the KA24E and the DE other than the head and manifolds? I'm new to these engines and I'm wondering if you can swap the SOHC head and manifolds for the DOHC head and manifolds?

Also, do they bolt to the same transmission? I'm assuming so but I'm just curious to know for sure.

Another question, read something about a brown-wire mod for the "sleepy eye" healight deal? Any info on that? Is it just a wiring mod? I know for Explorers you can brown wire the foglights to come on with the parking lights and I'm wondering if it's about the same thing?

Next question, possible to turbo a SOHC KA? Is it even worth it? Would stock components hold any boost?

I appreciate any help, I'm just trying to see what's possible out there and what can be done with one engine as compared to another.

I know some of these questions might be stupid but...oh well I'm new to these engines, I'm used to domestics.
Old 08-19-2007, 06:29 PM
Doin it in the dirt.

Default Re: KA24 Questions. Need a bit of help/info.

Come on...somebody help me out.
Old 08-19-2007, 07:23 PM
+RepCarebearCrew

I<3Strippers! I<3Strippers! I<3Strippers! I<3Strippers! I<3Strippers! I<3Strippers! I<3Strippers! I<3Strippers! I<3Strippers! I<3Strippers! I<3Strippers!

sorry dude, nicoclub is the site i pmed you.

here the link for sleepy eye...http://forums.nicoclub.com/zerothread?id=36850

ive never done it, but plan on it, if you do it, please take pics and write up id like to see it done.

personal opinion- dont boost the sohc, go with a dohc.