Notices
Cycle Corner Running with two less wheels than everyone else? This forum is for you.

New To This World

Old 07-11-2008, 11:25 PM
Registered Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Greasysnowball has disabled reputation
Default New To This World

Ok right of the bat, i want to inform you i have little to no experience. I say little because I have ridden a bike in first gear once twice.

I would also like to say hello!

Now i have been wanting to ride for a really long time, and my parents havnt been too suportive (seeing all the wreckless people where i live, i dont blame them). Now that i am older they are a little iffy on me getting a bike, but okay with it.

I am going to be taking a class that allows me to get hands on trianing 1on1 with an instructor, they provide me with a bike and gear for 8 hours (on the campus im taking the class at), and will provide me with a slip to get a license after the class if i do well. The class is for people with little to no experience (i will also be taking a defensive driving course after i get a bike).

If all goes well, i would like to purchase my first bike shortly afterwards. I have been told it is wise to start riding on dirt before street, i have also been told it really doesnt matter... i know it matters, i also know that dirt and street are totally different surfaces. I would like honest opinions on this matter please.

Now in all honesty after being told to start on dirt, i have been looking at dirtbikes. I was thinking about getting one that is already street legal, or getting one and making it street legal. So i guess i will ask my questions now

1. What is your opinion on learning sufaces dirt/street?

2. Would a street legal dirtbike be a decent first bike (not sure of the official name).

3. What would a good start bike for riding on both dirt and street (i plan on getting a used one, my make expense will most likely be around $2,500)?