Notices
Automotive Discussion Automotive talk that is not technical can be posted here. Posts must address the general population.

Insurance rates go up when not at fault for accident??

Old 04-29-2010, 11:06 AM
Registered Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
kevy wevy has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default Insurance rates go up when not at fault for accident??

I got into an accident back in December in which the police determined I was not at fault. I just received a letter stating that my insurance rates are going up since I was involved in an "at fault accident". After calling insurance they told me that it does not matter whose fault it is, if I use my collision insurance my rates will go up. Everyone I have talked to has said the exact opposite and that rates will only go up if your determined to be at fault. Maybe I'm just a noob when it comes to insurance companies but can someone please explain??
Old 04-29-2010, 11:11 AM
Dont Hate

cp44 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Insurance rates go up when not at fault for accident??

My mom worked for an insurance company and said if your insurance has to pay anything out of pocket to you regardless whos at fault, it will go up.
Old 04-29-2010, 11:13 AM
master debater

blackout blackout blackout blackout blackout blackout blackout blackout blackout blackout blackout

i think any time you make a claim your rates go up. if you were not at fault, but somehow ended up using your insurance, i could understand why your rates went up.

i don't like the fact that it says in writing that the reason your rates are going up for an 'at fault accident', but they tell you differently on the phone. that sounds like bs.
Old 04-29-2010, 11:18 AM
Registered Member

cp 44 that is what I thought, insurance companies just screw you either way.