Notices
Tech Talk Anything technically related to your vehicle should be posted here. If you're looking to have work done, try one of the Regional Forums.

Turbo vs Supercharger

Old 06-11-2007, 11:50 AM
Yamaha :) vrooom!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
beem3r has disabled reputation
Default Turbo vs Supercharger

This is probably the stupidest question(s) to ask. I’m not experienced with forced induction; just want to know from people with experience.

How do you determine if a turbo or a supercharger is better for a car? Only 6-8 psi of boost.
Example: "328i or M3 BMW"

Next question.

In regards to low compression vs. high compression pistons.
I understand the low compression.

For high performance compression pistons + 6psi of boost = engine blow up? Or high performance compression pistons can handle higher compression then regular high compression pistons? I’m lost typing this, if you understand help loll.....
Old 06-11-2007, 12:18 PM
Banned

DecentCivicZ6 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Turbo vs Supercharger

HIGH compression and turbo on a street car is just asking for a new engine. lol. if you just want a boosted car for DD driving...id go with a super charger...if you want max performance...TURBO. thats how I see it.
Old 06-11-2007, 12:20 PM
Banned

I did see a test done fromsomone cant remember....he ran 10:1 compression and say 15psi... and then 9:1 compression and 15psi..the 10:1 made like 10-15 more hp....BUT it couldnt run as much boost as the 9:1. so in the end...low compression is gonna be better...last longer. But there are alot of 11:1 cr and high boost...ive got a write up on one right beside me. putting down over 700whp, but that calls for race fuel, water/meth injection. all type of shit to prevent detonation
Old 06-11-2007, 02:42 PM
Racetracks

Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8

You should be able to run 6-8 PSI on most stock engines with stock compression.