Notices
Tech Talk Anything technically related to your vehicle should be posted here. If you're looking to have work done, try one of the Regional Forums.

Check resistance of a one-pin connector?

Old 06-30-2011, 09:49 PM
ATGATT

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
marlinspike marlinspike marlinspike marlinspike marlinspike marlinspike marlinspike marlinspike marlinspike marlinspike marlinspike
Default Check resistance of a one-pin connector?

How does one check the resistance on a piece of electrical equipment that only has one wire going to it?
Old 07-01-2011, 02:11 AM
superuser

Computer_Nerd Computer_Nerd Computer_Nerd Computer_Nerd Computer_Nerd Computer_Nerd Computer_Nerd Computer_Nerd Computer_Nerd Computer_Nerd Computer_Nerd
Default Re: Check resistance of a one-pin connector?

do what?
Old 07-01-2011, 02:43 AM
ATGATT

marlinspike marlinspike marlinspike marlinspike marlinspike marlinspike marlinspike marlinspike marlinspike marlinspike marlinspike

I'm no electrical engineer...
Transmission has an electrical component on it (kickdown solenoid). This solenoid only has a single wire going to it. I guess the ground is the component to transmission contact? Do I just put one lead on the wire and one on the chassis?
Old 07-01-2011, 03:39 AM
superuser

Computer_Nerd Computer_Nerd Computer_Nerd Computer_Nerd Computer_Nerd Computer_Nerd Computer_Nerd Computer_Nerd Computer_Nerd Computer_Nerd Computer_Nerd

the ground would be contact between the sensor and the transmission. measure using the ground to both a clear spot on the tranny and on the exterior of the sensor.
Old 07-01-2011, 08:27 AM
Racetracks

Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8

Yes.
Old 07-03-2011, 03:30 AM
ATGATT

Ok, well that wasn't the problem.

As long as Fabrik8 is in the room....
Trans works fine.
Park car last Sunday.
Come back to car and suddenly shifts are harsh and late.