VADriven.com Forums

VADriven.com Forums (https://www.vadriven.com/forums/)
-   Cycle Corner (https://www.vadriven.com/forums/cycle-corner-41/)
-   -   Salvage v Clear (https://www.vadriven.com/forums/cycle-corner-41/salvage-v-clear-146378/)

djgrom 07-06-2006 10:42 AM

Salvage v Clear

I am new to the the whole bike scene, just got my license and am now looking f or a bike. I have never purchased a vehicale or anything of that nature so there are a few questions I was hoping that somebody could help me answer. The first is what are the major differences and problems of a salvage title versues a Clean/Clear title? When I purchase a bike how do I get it registerd in my name, and does the title have to be switched over too? How much, and how long does this usually take? If the bike has a salvage title, do I have to get it switched to a Clean/Clear title in order to register the bike and insure it? What sort of legal things should I look for, or ask to a potential seller? Like I said before I have never purchased any kind of vehicale before so these might seem like dumb questions sorry. Also if anybody is looking to sell a bike I have about 2k right now, so if you want hit me up. Thanks.

~grom

bambooi 07-06-2006 11:02 AM

Re: Salvage v Clear

Salvage= can't get full coverage. Harder to sell also. To get it registered and titled in your name the seller signs the title over to you and you take it to the DMV. I don't think you can make a salvage title turn into a clear one.

_____ 07-06-2006 11:07 AM

Originally Posted by bambooi
Salvage= can't get full coverage. Harder to sell also. To get it registered and titled in your name the seller signs the title over to you and you take it to the DMV. I don't think you can make a salvage title turn into a clear one.

You can get a salvage title turned into a clear one with no problem. You will also be able to get the same insurance coverage once you have a clear title.

Armenian 07-06-2006 11:29 AM