Notices
Cycle Corner Running with two less wheels than everyone else? This forum is for you.

Question for motorcycle mechanics...

Old 08-21-2006, 08:22 AM
ASE Master

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
onepointone has much to be proud ofonepointone has much to be proud ofonepointone has much to be proud ofonepointone has much to be proud ofonepointone has much to be proud ofonepointone has much to be proud ofonepointone has much to be proud ofonepointone has much to be proud ofonepointone has much to be proud ofonepointone has much to be proud ofonepointone has much to be proud of
Default Question for motorcycle mechanics...

so ive been working for a lexus dealer for over 2 years, and it has made my passion for cars fade.. badly. i think its mainly the dealership, but there isnt another dealership around here...

im wonder if there is money to be made in the motorcycle industry? im guessing its not as high as the automotive world.. but what are you guy's opinions? im guessing your local suzuki/yamaha/kawi/honda shops are incredibly high paying jobs, but what about places like ducati?

also, ive ALWAYS wanted to work on a race team. every year i got to VIR and watch those guys work on the bikes for hours thinking how awesome it would be to travel around with a team to work on those bikes. im assuming those jobs are near impossible to get.. but are they? how do those guys land those jobs?
Old 08-21-2006, 08:43 AM
JAY SPEC

00civichatch 00civichatch
Default Re: Question for motorcycle mechanics...

i wanna know too, but i wanna work on the race cars.
Old 08-21-2006, 02:15 PM
hatrs make me famous

skr00zloose has disabled reputation

well, i'll step up and answer this one, since i've wrenched at damn near every bike shop in the 757. yes, it's decent money, if you're good. pay at dealerships is usually equivalent of the pay scale you're on at lexus (which dealer, btw? i know some of the guys at a few)