Notices
Central VA The Richmond and surrounding areas forum. Introductions and regional topics go here.

advice about DMV

Old 08-28-2006, 07:45 AM
Grrrrrrr!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
BigCheese has disabled reputation
Default advice about DMV

I'm new to VA and the insurance rules in CO are a little different. I bought a civic about 6 months ago. I put liability insurance on it and registered it.... After about 2 months I decided to take it off the road, take my time and build something nice. Because of how long the car was going to be off the road I did not bother to continue with the liability ins. I got a letter in the mail saying either prove the car had insurance on it as of 08/01/2006 ( which it didn't) or pay 500 bucks to DMV and get an SR-22. Now I"ve never been in an accident, had a speeding ticket, DUI, not even a faulty equipment ticket. I don't mind paying the 500, but is there any alternatives? What if I sell the car? Has anyone else ever been through this?
Old 08-28-2006, 08:44 AM
Registered Member

thehollowkrew has disabled reputation
Default Re: advice about DMV

yea the 500 dollars is the uninsured motors fee. yea, our state is pretty gay.
Old 08-28-2006, 08:47 AM
Registered Member

Frost Frost Frost Frost Frost Frost Frost Frost Frost Frost Frost

You HAVE to turn in plates BEFORE you cancel insurance... Write a letter that the car has not been on a public road since the date insurance was dropped and neither has it been in any kind of accident at all and get it stamped by a notary public.

I've had DMV's own errors drag me into a BUNCH of shit over this law TWICE now.
Old 08-28-2006, 08:48 AM
2004 Danceoff Champ

Tonka Toy Tonka Toy Tonka Toy Tonka Toy Tonka Toy Tonka Toy Tonka Toy Tonka Toy Tonka Toy Tonka Toy Tonka Toy