Notices
Automotive Discussion Automotive talk that is not technical can be posted here. Posts must address the general population.

High Mileage 5 & 7 series Bimmers for a DD?

Old 05-24-2012, 09:23 AM
mmmmmm

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Harold_Fastwake Harold_Fastwake Harold_Fastwake Harold_Fastwake Harold_Fastwake Harold_Fastwake Harold_Fastwake Harold_Fastwake Harold_Fastwake Harold_Fastwake Harold_Fastwake
Default High Mileage 5 & 7 series Bimmers for a DD?

I have no experience with BMW ownership, but I have been kicking around the idea of buying 1999-2001 7 series or a newer 5 series (under $15k). This would be used as a partial DD as I would put coilovers and wheels on it and be done. Both cars would have over 100k miles, looking through bimmerforums, people just say to watch for vanos issues. But they are also saying to expect maintain costs of $2500+ a year. WTF needs replacing that often?

I've driven nothing but Toyotas, only maintenance I have is oil changes and tires twice a year because of my camber.

I'm at a loss for what the hell to buy as a second car, looking to stay under $20k and have $7k in cash now. I want something new to drive around, non civic/vw. My DD nets me 35mpg now and I have been hunting for an FD to buy to both DD some and track it. I'm shifting my thought though as I don't have the time to fully support a FD or other constant project. I just don't know if I want a vert / track car / vip , etc.
Old 05-24-2012, 09:37 AM
face is vanilla

Vanilla Face Vanilla Face Vanilla Face Vanilla Face Vanilla Face Vanilla Face Vanilla Face Vanilla Face Vanilla Face Vanilla Face Vanilla Face
Default Re: High Mileage 5 & 7 series Bimmers for a DD?