Notices
Western VA The Virginia Tech, JMU and surrounding area forum. Introductions and regional topics go here.

Anyone know anybody that is hiring?

Old 07-26-2010, 05:24 AM
Registered Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cosmo Cosmo Cosmo Cosmo Cosmo Cosmo Cosmo Cosmo Cosmo Cosmo Cosmo
Default Anyone know anybody that is hiring?

Okay, so I'm going on about a year now without a consistent paycheck, and I'm getting desperate. So, if anyone can point me in the direction of a decent job, you would receive my eternal gratitude.

What I do:

I've been a graphic designer for 21 years, and a freelance web designer for 10 years. I've been in the printing industry for most of my life, but have also worked in the sign industry designing, fabricating, and installing signs, vehicle graphics, etc.

I've been scouring the various job sites (jobs.roanoke.com, indeed, monster, careerbuilder, etc.) for months. In the past few months I've applied for more than 30 jobs, but have yet to receive a single interview.

The main problem I'm having is that I don't have a degree. I started working right out of high school. I'm back in school now, but it will be another couple years before I complete my degree. Unfortunately, businesses these days value a piece of paper much more than they do experience.

So, if anyone knows of anything that would be anywhere close to what I'm looking for, please let me know. I don't mind driving an hour or so to a job.

Thanks in advance!
Old 07-26-2010, 05:52 AM
EDM|Mugen|MK3 CRX

.Sarge. .Sarge. .Sarge. .Sarge. .Sarge. .Sarge. .Sarge. .Sarge. .Sarge. .Sarge. .Sarge.
Default Re: Anyone know anybody that is hiring?

Do we look like a magic 8ball or something?

Mcdonalds is hiring.

Get manager experiance.

Move up.

?????

Profit.

Good luck.

Or......