Notices
Tech Talk Anything technically related to your vehicle should be posted here. If you're looking to have work done, try one of the Regional Forums.

Scrapping a car..

Old 05-12-2015, 06:55 AM
Registered member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
SyedUmarAhmad SyedUmarAhmad SyedUmarAhmad SyedUmarAhmad SyedUmarAhmad SyedUmarAhmad SyedUmarAhmad SyedUmarAhmad SyedUmarAhmad SyedUmarAhmad SyedUmarAhmad
Default Scrapping a car..

So I will need to scrap a parts car I am done with by the end of this week which I've never done before, and I just had a few questions for the procedure. The scrap yard 'm taking it to requires that:
*ALL the fluid be removed from the vehicle
*battery
*tires
*Freon
*and a hole must be made in the gas tank.

now for the fluids I think have a good idea of what needs to be flushed; engine, trans, differential, brake, windshield wash, and coolant- am I missing anything?

Secondly, for the Freon removal, I am reading on most sites that it is best to have this professionally done at a shop... is this true? The whole car is being scrapped so I am not worried about damaging anything. I am wondering if there is an easy way to do this or maybe I can just rip the entire AC system out?

and finally, I am wondering what might be the best/safest way to cut in to the gas tank? I read online someone filled their tank with water, I guess to "dilute" the gas and then used a drill bit.. no idea if that would actually work

any help is much appreciated
Old 05-12-2015, 10:57 AM
GLHF

WutupYo WutupYo WutupYo WutupYo WutupYo WutupYo WutupYo WutupYo WutupYo WutupYo WutupYo
Default Re: Scrappng a car..

If you take it to pick and pull, you don't have to worry about doing any of that stuff. They do it all on site.