VADriven.com Forums

VADriven.com Forums (https://www.vadriven.com/forums/)
-   Tech Talk (https://www.vadriven.com/forums/tech-talk-9/)
-   -   MkVI help (https://www.vadriven.com/forums/tech-talk-9/mkvi-help-480573/)

91tegrsjg 01-13-2014 04:41 PM

MkVI help

I just picked up a 2011 GTI 6MT. It is completely stock. I have some idea of what I going to do with it. Now before I get chastised and neg reps, I am new to the VW game.

Im thinking of:
- APR stage 1
- Milltek Exhaust
- S3 intercooler
- DieselGeeks shifter
- R8 coils
- VWR intake
- Eibach sportlines (not sure on struts)

I guess what I asking is, does this seem like it will seem like a decent fun ride?

Yardjass 01-13-2014 05:52 PM

Re: MkVI help

:thup: for another mkVI golf. Don't know much about mods because all my money goes into the Z. I do hear Malone tuning is pretty good though. They might do gassers, maybe just diesels. Not sure.

Blue2turbo 01-14-2014 08:23 AM

Depending on if you're going to get a full turboback or just a catback section, that should really decide which stage tune you're going to get. If you get a full turboback milltek, you might as well get the APR Stage 2. Although, if you do some reading through the VW boards, catback exhausts are mostly just for added noise in the MKVI platform. Many owners just go with an intake, downpipe, and stage 2. Save the money from the catback section to get supporting mods like 034 Motor Mounts, Boost gauge, etc.

I did the R8 coils in mine along with New NGK plugs. If you shop around and use coupon codes, you can get a set of the NGK plugs for about $25 and you can normally find the (4) R8 Coils for about $75 shipped. Either way, definitely an upgrade you should do before the tune.