Notices
Tech Talk Anything technically related to your vehicle should be posted here. If you're looking to have work done, try one of the Regional Forums.

A few turbo questons for LS b18B

Old 02-08-2006, 07:13 PM
Registered Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ScorchTeg has disabled reputation
Default A few turbo questons for LS b18B

I am purchasing a b18b turbo this weekend that I need to build. I have rods and pistons, head studs that I am transfering from a cracked b18b block to a new block. I know I am going to need to get new rings and bearings, but is there anything else I should get? I am new to the turbo game, I have always been an N/A guy so Im sorry if these questions sound stupid. I also would like to know what sleeving the block entails. Its it parts, machine shop work, or a combo of the two? Also is there a recommended brand for the bearings? any other tips would be awesome.
Old 02-09-2006, 09:48 AM
Registered Member

patrck has disabled reputation
Default Re: A few turbo questons for LS b18B

I wouldn't re-use the head studs. Just buy new ones (ARP) to be safe. Use OEM bearings. As always, belts and pumps should be replaced if they haven't been recently. Possibly a thicker head gasket to lower your compression a tiny bit.

Generally sleeving a block will be a combination of the sleeves, and machine work. The block will be cleaned and honed, and in most cases, bored out, before the sleeves are installed.

If you're not putting in forged internals, I don't see the point in sleeving your block right now. The ringlands are going to give far before you reach the point of needing a sleeved block. I've heard the B18B rods are good to 400whp but I'd rather not test that out.
Old 02-10-2006, 08:36 AM
Registered Member

I have JE pistons and eagle rods going in it. Thats good to hear that the sleeving is probably not needed. I have a deck guard so hopefully that should suffice. You think that the oem bearings will work ok though?
Old 02-10-2006, 03:48 PM