Notices
Tech Talk Anything technically related to your vehicle should be posted here. If you're looking to have work done, try one of the Regional Forums.

ECU for a b16a2 swap

Old 05-11-2011, 10:56 AM
Registered Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Xchekker88 has disabled reputation
Default ECU for a b16a2 swap

I'm a total newby getting ready to do my first engine swap and need some advice. I've searched the forums for this subject and haven't been able to find the answer previously posted, even though I'm sure it's been discussed.

I've got a 2000 Civic Si b16a2 engine/trans that I'm going to swap into a '94 hatch. I should have everything I need except the ECU. I know the engine is OBD2b and I've researched as much as I can but I can't find out what ECU I should use and what harness I will need to connect to the ecu.

I know the engine is OBD2b. I've read that I should use a P28 ECU that has been modified so I can adjust the fuel mapping for the future turbo I want to install. On ebay there are sellers who take P06 ECU's and convert them to run VTEC engines. Are there any problems using an ECU like that for my swap?
Old 05-11-2011, 11:03 AM
Boost is Better

sircrx sircrx sircrx sircrx sircrx sircrx sircrx sircrx sircrx sircrx sircrx
Default Re: ECU for a b16a2 swap

no there wouldn't be any problems running the p06 ecu. The p28 is just the most widely used ecu to chip and program because it already has vtec and everything working for you. Now a days it doesn't even really matter if you get an auto or manual ecu as they can convert them now. It would cost less to chip the p28's than the p06 though as like I said you wouldn't have to convert vtec and all.
Old 05-11-2011, 03:05 PM
Racetracks

Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8