Notices
Tech Talk Anything technically related to your vehicle should be posted here. If you're looking to have work done, try one of the Regional Forums.

Does anyone have experience with B18C5?

Old 12-30-2011, 05:48 PM
Registered Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Johnnybomber101 has disabled reputation
Default Does anyone have experience with B18C5?

I am totally new to the Honda scene. I have been working on Porsches and VWs for about 16yrs now. My current race cars are a 1987 930 and a 1967 Beetle with a 2180cc with a turbo.

However, one of my team members has a 1991 CRX and after taking some time to look at it, I really think that a car like that could be a really, really awesome race car!

After a lot of looking and digging on the internets, it looks like a B18c5 out of the JDM Integra Type R is what I am looking for. I like the fact that it comes 11.2 to 1 stock, and the cam profiles are stock what most companies sell as their "performance" upgrades for almost any other Honda engine. Also, from what I am reading about it, the B18c5 is at the top of Honda's N/A performance offering for a factory car. THAT is what I am looking to get into with a CRX, a N/A monster.

Does anyone have experience with keeping a Honda N/A and making it a performance car? It seems like everyone's solution on this site is to just slap a turbo on it and go. That is awesome if you want run of the mill performance, but these engines/chassis seem like there is just so much more to them.

My "plan" (so to speak) is to drop in the C5 with it's LSD tranny, bump the compression up to 11.5 and put a set of individual throttle bodies on it. With some quick pencil math, my assumption is in the area of 260 - 270hp that I can run on 93. It will be snappy and extremely reliable. The clean air here in VA will allow the engine to get the most out of the ITBs because I can leave off a box and just run screens.