Notices
Tech Talk Anything technically related to your vehicle should be posted here. If you're looking to have work done, try one of the Regional Forums.

Breaks and rotors

Old 01-02-2008, 06:26 AM
Registered Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
wierdguy75 has disabled reputation
Default Breaks and rotors

Heres the thing, I'm an entry level technician going to school right now for automotive. I would like to get more information when it comes to upgrading brakes and rotors. I have a stock 96 Maxima that i want to upgrade the rims on. When I do that, would it be a good idea to get performance rotors and pads? i know i don't have to get bigger ones, but would it be better? I was thinking about drilled and slotted rotors, but like i said, just want to get information. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old 01-02-2008, 06:33 AM
Needs more poke.

Tarzan Bakerada Tarzan Bakerada Tarzan Bakerada Tarzan Bakerada Tarzan Bakerada Tarzan Bakerada Tarzan Bakerada Tarzan Bakerada Tarzan Bakerada Tarzan Bakerada Tarzan Bakerada
Default Re: Breaks and rotors

no your fine.
Old 01-02-2008, 08:22 AM
Racetracks

Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8

Go slotted, not drilled. To many problems with drilled rotors on street cars, unless you get really good rotors (which are $$). Slotted are cheap and easy, and don't have the stress riser problems that holes leave. I'm not sure if AEM makes anything for your car, but they make caliper relocation kits that have larger rotors and offset the calipers to match. You get some pretty decent performance improvements for pretty cheap. You can do this at any time after you get new wheels though, so don't feel obligated to do it at the same time, unless you get massively heavy wheels.

Decent pads are always a great choice though, they'll improve your braking performance no matter what brake hardware you have.
Old 01-02-2008, 08:37 AM
Registered Member

EGCivicSi has disabled reputation