Notices
Tech Talk Anything technically related to your vehicle should be posted here. If you're looking to have work done, try one of the Regional Forums.

Block Guard

Old 06-23-2010, 08:30 AM
Registered Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
K24delsol has disabled reputation
Default Block Guard

I am currently building a K24A Del sol, I am curious about block guards? wat are there main purpose and are they needed for high power motors? im sorry if this is a dumb question but this is my first build and im taking my time with and making sure everything is done right, i dont want finish the motor and then find out i need it
Old 06-23-2010, 08:55 AM
Registered Member

brandon.beene can only hope to improve
Default Re: Block Guard

It depends on who you ask what they say about block guards. I would stear away from a block guard, for 1 it limits cooling capibilitys and improper installation causes your walls to become distorted. it happens all the freaking time, But if you decide to get it done. Make sure you go to a machine shop and have them do it for you
Old 06-23-2010, 12:48 PM
Racetracks

Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8 Fabrik8

There aren't many downsides if done properly. Some of the block guards limit cooling depending on their design. A good install usually involves welding the block guard in place on the block followed decking the block and then boring the sleeves to make everything nice and round again. I'd really shy away from the "tap in place and put the head back on" types, because the results can be scary. Basically a block guard should just turn an open deck block into a closed or semi-closed deck block, without affecting anything else.
Old 06-23-2010, 03:47 PM
Registered Member

If you are thinking about making alot of power just do yourself a favor and get it sleeved. If you plan on just minor upgrades then keep it stock cause block guards create too many problems.

Even when done correct. Its not worth it