Notices
Tech Talk Anything technically related to your vehicle should be posted here. If you're looking to have work done, try one of the Regional Forums.

B16A help...did i get royally f*d...may need legal advice

Old 01-08-2010, 11:36 PM
Registered member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
derekuda derekuda derekuda derekuda derekuda derekuda derekuda derekuda derekuda derekuda derekuda
Default B16A help...did i get royally f*d...may need legal advice

ok...so let me say first that i'm relatively new to the honda scene. please tell me if i've got my info wrong because i'm trying to learn...dont bash me, correct me respectively. thanks in advance.

i drive a 1995 honda civic ex coupe and swapped the stock d16 with a B16A2...or so i thought maybe( i specifically said to order the B16A2 from the 97 del sol / 99Si coupe (correct me if im wrong on that). i got the swap done at a shop...and out respect i will keep the shop name and all personal info out of this thread cause i'm not trying to give someone a bad rep or anything. just know that i'm in the city of richmond.

k, so i got the swap. everything looked nice, felt great and everything. the mechanic is actually really talented and precise and knowledgeable, i wouldnt want anyone to touch my car other than him just based on reputation i hear from trusted friends and word of mouth.

now here's the problem. a number of month ago, it started to idle fast on a cold start. if the engine is cold, say in the morning before i go to work, and i start it, the rpms jump up to about 2K. as the car warms up, the rpms go down. it will do the "idle bounce" once it gets down to about 1400rpm. that lasts for about a minute and then stops bouncing and rests at 1K. a few more minutes or letting it warm up and it finally gets down to about 650ish 700rpm like normal. once the car is warm, there is no problems with the idle whatsoever.