Notices
Tech Talk Anything technically related to your vehicle should be posted here. If you're looking to have work done, try one of the Regional Forums.

93 Accord Coupe SE

Old 01-25-2012, 05:38 AM
Registered member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
urbnredneck has disabled reputation
Default 93 Accord Coupe SE

Just bought this car about a month ago. Only has 112k on motor. Head gasket and valve seal gasket was replaced. Has new battery, plugs and wires. Car drives like a dream. Ksport fully adjustable coilovers. Nice car all the way around. I have noticed lately though that on startup I have this burning oil smell. Lasts for about 10 minutes. I've looked several times to try and find a leak but I dont see one. I can tell its burning some oil though as the level has dropped. Wondering if anyone has any ideas on what i can check to find this damn leak. Also was looking for ideas on a motor swap. As I am new to the honda tunning world. Most have told me and H22. Is there anything I could do to keep the lower half of the motor that is in the car and change out the upper half?
Old 01-25-2012, 06:50 AM
Registered member

Turbobonics has disabled reputation

Slap an h22 head on it, an replace rearmain seal on block,
Old 01-25-2012, 09:16 AM
Registered Member

ZebraEJ8 ZebraEJ8 ZebraEJ8 ZebraEJ8 ZebraEJ8 ZebraEJ8 ZebraEJ8 ZebraEJ8 ZebraEJ8 ZebraEJ8 ZebraEJ8
Default Re: 93 Accord Coupe SE

Im assuming that you have an f22a1? If Im not mistaken, you would have to have the head milled/ block decked to get the compression where it should be and plug some oil passages on the head. You also have to use a different water pump and some other things that I don't remember. Basically, unless you have an h22 head lying around, since you have to replace the rear main anyway you might as well pull the motor and drop in an h22.
Old 01-25-2012, 09:37 AM
Registered member

Turbobonics has disabled reputation

Zebra is right, full swap is alot more Cost effective,
Old 01-25-2012, 09:52 AM