Notices
Tech Talk Anything technically related to your vehicle should be posted here. If you're looking to have work done, try one of the Regional Forums.

2000 camry turns over but wont start????

Old 10-04-2010, 11:38 AM
Registered Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
TrePound has disabled reputation
Default 2000 camry turns over but wont start????

started it up, got ready to pull off then it dies. didnt even make it 15ft. All it does now is turns over. Doesnt catch, doesnt sound like it wants or is trying to catch. i checked the timing belt, thats still good. next thing im goin to check is the starter, then im checkin the fuses.

I hate troubleshooting haha. im a good mechanic once i know what the problem is, but getting to the problem im no good at.

so i was wondering if anyone on here can give me a few things to check and to look at that i may be over looking.

also im going to see if my fuel pump primes, i guess that could be it as well to.. if you have any insight please share.
Old 10-04-2010, 12:28 PM
Registered Member

Default Re: 2000 camry turns over but wont start????

fuel pump works. i dont think its getting spark. is it suppose to spark visually while its cranking? i dont think im seeing spark, and im pretty sure id know it if i saw it.

im ruling out the starter cause the car actually started and ran before it died, and i never had a problem with it not wanting to start before.

any suggestions
Old 10-04-2010, 01:19 PM
Registered Member

just grabbed some starter fluid, and its still doin the same thing. so the problem isnt fuel related its spark/electrical related. i have new spark plugs and wires and new #2 coil pack. what are some ways to check for spark?
Old 10-06-2010, 11:13 AM
Registered Member

hmmm i guess vadriven has lost all its tech people and is now home to shit talkers and dick riders. I saw that coming the last time i was on here a year and some change ago.

anywho