VADriven.com Forums

VADriven.com Forums (https://www.vadriven.com/forums/)
-   Tech Talk (https://www.vadriven.com/forums/tech-talk-9/)
-   -   1991 Honda Civic DX hatch back brake lights and tail lights staying on please help (https://www.vadriven.com/forums/tech-talk-9/1991-honda-civic-dx-hatch-back-brake-lights-tail-lights-staying-please-help-472147/)

ghost33777 06-17-2013 11:18 PM

1991 Honda Civic DX hatch back brake lights and tail lights staying on please help

Hi guys. I'm new to this forum, actually new to all forums. But i have more than a few problems with my Honda and I'd really appreciate any help anyone could give. And I apologize if I've posted this in the wrong place, but like I said I'm new to this stuff.

I have a 1991 Honda Civic hatch back and I love the little car. Here recently my brake lights and my tail lights have been staying on. It just started out of no where. All of the other running lights work like their suppose to, but my brake lights and my running lights stay on even without the keys being in the ignition.

I asked a buddy that owns a garage what it might be and he said it could be that the brake censer could be bad. He told me if I unplugged it, and the lights went out then most likely that was it. Well I tried it, they cut off, but when i replaced the censer the lights stayed on.

I have no idea what to do. This is my only transportation back and forth to work, and i really can afford to get pulled over. Over a year ago I had an electrical problem that burnt up my wiring harness. I found a similar one that I put in, but one connector was too big and now I have no turn signals. I've been looking for another one, but I haven't been able to find one. My inspection sticker is over a year old, because I have no turn signals, and I've gotten four tickets so far for it. I'm afraid that if I get pulled for no brake lights, and they see that sticker, that they'll make me park the car. And I can't do that.