Notices
Cycle Corner Running with two less wheels than everyone else? This forum is for you.

zx9 help please

Old 05-19-2009, 07:51 PM
Registered Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
93hatch has disabled reputation
Default zx9 help please

This may be on here but i didnt see it.

Ive got a 01 zx9. im new to bikes. ive been riding less than a year.

so i got my bike running after sitting all winter. ran great. rode quite a few times. Few weeks ago i took the bike to hertford 1/8. ran pretty decent for my second time. 6.98. rode the bike home and parked it in the garage with a battery tender hooked up to it for 2 weeks. well i went out to ride it the other day and it runs like crap. the bike is missing on atleast 1 cyclinder at lower rpms underload. it seems to clear up at high rpms. the bike has roughly 24k on it. it was maintained pretty good.

my question is where should i start? plugs? if so is there a trick to these? looks tight in there. also how about special tools and brand of plugs. any help would be great. thanks guys.

my guess is steve will be answering these questions.
Old 05-20-2009, 04:04 AM
Slow as Shit

Woodrow Woodrow Woodrow Woodrow Woodrow Woodrow Woodrow Woodrow Woodrow Woodrow Woodrow
Default Re: zx9 help please

I would start to see if the carbs need cleaning or need to be synchronized, plugs or a coil to see if anything is damaged. What other mods are done to it?
Old 05-20-2009, 07:19 AM
Fighterer

Abysalone will become famous soon enough

I would check the carbs first. Sounds like the low jet is clogged, but your mains are ok.

For the plugs, use a regular plug socket and a long extension. Removing the tank makes it alot easier.
Old 05-20-2009, 08:44 PM
Registered Member

changed the plugs today. no change at all.

so where should i go from here. it is missing at higher rpms but not as bad. its mainly under a load when it gets real bad.