Notices
Cycle Corner Running with two less wheels than everyone else? This forum is for you.

new rider thread v. 1497

Old 07-09-2008, 04:54 PM
master debater

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
blackout blackout blackout blackout blackout blackout blackout blackout blackout blackout blackout
Default new rider thread v. 1497

i feel like a complete newb in this forum guys, so bear with me, i may tend to get long winded. i've wanted a bike since about 99, but between lack of money and the introduction of wife and kids in my life it obviously hasn't happened... however, the planets have aligned and hell has apparently frozen over as now my wife is now heavily interested in riding as well.

i will very likely buy an 08 ninja 250 by this weekend.

now i have a few questions... i have done a fair amount of research but just glancing at some of the stickies in this thread (i actually have read the buying a bike 101 and gear threads already, along with some other newb rider threads) i realize that there are a ton of you guys on here with a wealth of knowledge, so i feel like i can get as specific as i want.

so for starters, here's more background. i have never ridden anything with a motor and two wheels. i have a fair amount of atv experience, but it's been a while since i drove a manual transmission. i did catch on pretty quick with the clutch and shifting while i was riding though... hopefully some of that stuck for when i buy the bike. i am in the military and plan on taking the base-provided motorcycle safety course ASAP after the bike is purchased, as they don't provide bikes to learn on. i was wondering how the hell if i don't have an m license how i would get the bike on base... but there must be some workaround and i can figure that one out on my own later.