Notices
Cycle Corner Running with two less wheels than everyone else? This forum is for you.

Just got my zx6r NEED HELP

Old 03-24-2004, 08:59 PM
Fighterer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Abysalone will become famous soon enough
Default Just got my zx6r IT RUNS :)

To start off I have plenty of dirt experience and im pretty good with automotive stuff. Well I picked up my bike yesterday and when I got there she fired it up easily and it ran very good. Sounds badass around 8-9k rpms Under 7k miles too. We strapped it down and drove home. When I went to fire it up once we got home, nothing. It would just turn over. I held the choke on like she said to do, and while in nuetral on the stand I hit the start button.(CLUTCH WAS BYPASSED SO NO NEED TO HOLD IN) All it would do is turn over. The petcock was turned on, gastank full and the key and run switch on also. Still nothing. She said it could be a low battery or fouled plugs. Im kind of pissed cuz im out 2g's and I aint even rode it yet (didnt wanna ride till I got a helmet anyways) It sounded like it was very solid running wise and all else looks good so far too. I have a ton of spare parts too if anyone needs some . If any of you all have some ideas I would appreciate it.

Last edited by Abysalone; 03-27-2004 at 06:36 PM.
Old 03-24-2004, 09:54 PM
Registered Member

Del La Sol 1320 has disabled reputation
Default Re: Just got my zx6r NEED HELP

try push starting it, get to a decent amount of speed on a hill or with two friends pushing and pop the clutch in 2nd or 3rd gear... was it cold? carburated bikes dont like to start sometimes in the cold, tomorrow is going to be really nice give it a try then... also try starting it with a car's battery attached to the bike's via some jumper cables, but DO NOT have the car running, w/ the alternator it will be too much juice for the bike's system
Old 03-24-2004, 10:37 PM
Fighterer