Notices
Cycle Corner Running with two less wheels than everyone else? This forum is for you.

How much it takes to own a motorcycle

Old 01-18-2010, 09:25 PM
Registered Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
97lude has disabled reputation
Default How much it takes to own a motorcycle

I have been riding motorcycles periodically for 7 years. I used to ride 200cc dirt bikes, then my dad got a dual sport 200cc bike that I learned how to ride on the road, then he got a 1200cc harley sportster that he would let me ride on the road. Two of my friends own a GSXR 600 and a Ninja 250R, that I ride every once in awhile.

I have a huge interest in motorcycles, and have been trying to get one for a long time. Now I actually work quite a bit and feel like I could afford to get one. My goal is to buy a Honda CBR600RR. I know I will get flamed as it will be my first bike and what not, but that's not what this thread is about so please leave that out of it.

I have been trying to figure out how much it will cost to own the motorcycle. I looked up insurance quotes and loan rates with my bank and have averaged it out to cost me ~$220/month for insurance for a bike and my car plus the loan. After I get a good idea of how much it's going to cost me, I plan on taking that much money out for a couple months and putting it into my savings to see how difficult it would be to own it. Then putting that money towards the loan.

I plan on spending ~4k on the bike itself. My real question is how much monthly maintenance + gas (I will ride whenever I can, I don't commute to class) do you guys averagely spend? Thanks in advance for the help.
Old 01-18-2010, 11:15 PM
Registered member

LeetPIE LeetPIE LeetPIE LeetPIE LeetPIE LeetPIE LeetPIE LeetPIE LeetPIE LeetPIE LeetPIE
Default Re: How much it takes to own a motorcycle