Notices
Cycle Corner Running with two less wheels than everyone else? This forum is for you.

Beginner Riding 101: Getting Started

Old 12-07-2009, 08:15 PM
Between Bikes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
pasty pasty pasty pasty pasty pasty pasty pasty pasty pasty pasty
Default Beginner Riding 101: Getting Started

The constant influx of questions from potential riders has inspired me to compose a short guide for beginners. I am by no means an expert; in fact, I am still a beginner, but when it comes to riding in general, my four years of riding on the street and the collective knowledge I've obtained from countless hours of reading have given me enough insight to create a guide like this.

This is a constant work in progress and is meant to help people as well as keep me busy during exams.

INDEX
I. Licensure Information
II. Buying a Bike
III. Gear
IV. Riding Tips - Constantly Adding

I. Licensure information

Before even thinking about hopping on a motorcycle you, the beginner rider, should be thinking about obtaining a legal license to operate it. There are two simple ways that this can be done: a license can be obtained by taking the DMV skills test or by taking an approved Motorcycle Safety Foundation course. A good reference on how to do this is Buttercup's thread.

https://www.vadriven.com/forums/cycle-corner-41/license-permit-info-virginia-101468/

Although the license can be obtained through the DMV skills test I can't stress enough that EVERYONE should take the Motorcycle Safety Foundation's Basic Rider Course. After taking this course not only will you be given the tools to be safe on the street, but you will also be given a card that will cut down insurance costs and allow you to get your license without taking that pesky DMV skills test (not to mention that it is fun because it will give you, the beginner rider, a taste of what you're in store for).

Here is a link to the DMV Motorcycle info and to the MSF page.

DMV Motorcycle Page: