Notices
Cycle Corner Running with two less wheels than everyone else? This forum is for you.

99 gsxr 600 help

Old 08-01-2009, 09:53 PM
Registered Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2tonehatch has a spectacular aura about2tonehatch has a spectacular aura about2tonehatch has a spectacular aura about
Default 99 gsxr 600 help

hello first off this is my first bike and i got a good deal on it .. well here goes its a 99 gsxr 600 i normally start it up every other day starts up fine . but this time i started it up and it began to knock but went away once bike was warmed up.. and then it began to knock again.

so i cut the bike off, and notced the the oil window was smoky so i took off the oil cap and noticed it was milky. so i know thats not a good sign some people say it could be a blown head gasket if so how hard to replace or would it be cheaper just to rebuild the whole engine?

I'm new to the bike scene so any good input would be great thanks....
Old 08-01-2009, 10:18 PM
TRIED HIS GT!

FairladyZTT FairladyZTT FairladyZTT FairladyZTT FairladyZTT FairladyZTT FairladyZTT FairladyZTT FairladyZTT FairladyZTT FairladyZTT
Default Re: 99 gsxr 600 help

Rebuilding a bike engine is the same as rebuilding a car engine.. just on a smaller scale. And you cant do it while it is in the bike like you can a car.

The engine will have to be removed and rebuilt. If it has alot of miles on it. Since you are going to be redoing the head gasket and it has a knock. I would suggest at minimum a rebuild.

You can also look into finding a wrecked bike and getting the engine from it. With it being a 10 year old bike, so parts bikes shouldn't be but so expensive. It would be a cheaper route to go if that is what you are looking for.
Old 08-02-2009, 07:58 AM
Registered Member

98formulaLS1 will become famous soon enough

You really ought to wait for the input from Skr00z, but if a knock in a bike is the same as in a car, then yes, it requires a rebuild.