Notices
Cycle Corner Running with two less wheels than everyone else? This forum is for you.

1987 Honda XL250R Overhaul -- Pics Galore --- Minimalist's Garage

Old 04-29-2010, 02:32 PM
E for Engourged.

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
4BangerCivic has disabled reputation
Default 1987 Honda XL250R Overhaul -- Pics Galore --- Minimalist's Garage

I'm a broke graduate student and I like dirtbikes. Found one for cheap and now i'm putting it together in the living room of my 1br apartment. Here's the fun.

Well I got a 1987 Honda XL250R from a member here for $50. It was generally disassembled, and was taken apart because it had developed a knock that "somewhat affected performance, and varied with the RPMs". Going off of that, i figured it'd be a good idea to just tear her down. This is what has happened so far:

[Note: there is text inbetween pics telling the general story. The pics are huge and the text is small, so its kinda hard to find]

Me and my girl got it up the stairs (2nd floor apt)

Threw the engine up on my end table, grabbed a bucket to sit on, and got to work. Valve cover already had most of the bolts out - and thrown in a bag with a random spring (remember this random spring, it will resurface later in teh story).

Cam looked pretty decent

Only one rocker looked bad, one slightly imperfect.

Got the cam out, but had some trouble getting the cam chain off of the sprocket -- wasn't enough slack in the tensioner. Finally was able to get her done.

Finally got the head off:

That top/right cylinder bolt gave me SO MUCH trouble. My socket for my 1/2" drive wasn't deep enough, so I had to use my 3/8" -- which was a BITCH. That bolt was IN THERE. had to put the engine on the floor and REALLY work it.

But I got her off

Piston looks nice

Cylinder looks great