Notices
Cycle Corner Running with two less wheels than everyone else? This forum is for you.

02 R6 running poorly

Old 03-31-2011, 07:13 PM
Registered Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lars Lars Lars Lars Lars Lars Lars Lars Lars Lars Lars
Default 02 R6 running poorly

So I'm gonna do what every man knows NEVER to do, and admit that I'm not good with carburetors. One of my current projects is an 02 R6, that among other things, needs work on the carbs.
It's running very rich (can see the unburned gas coming out the exhaust), and bogs down at about 7k rpm once it's warmed up. The revs hang for a few seconds after you let off the throttle, regardless of where it's at in the rpm range. It has a stock exhaust and K&N filter at the moment.
I've pulled the carbs, but haven't taken em that much apart yet since I wanna avoid having to get new gaskets if possible- can't find any rebuild kits online. They're pretty clean from what I can tell.
So I need ideas. Right now I'm thinkin it's been rejetted and needs to go back to smaller jets, or the carbs are out of sync. But I don't trust my own opinion since I don't know shit about carbs- so what do you guys think- what's the first step toward fixing it?
Thanks
Old 03-31-2011, 08:20 PM
TRIED HIS GT!

FairladyZTT FairladyZTT FairladyZTT FairladyZTT FairladyZTT FairladyZTT FairladyZTT FairladyZTT FairladyZTT FairladyZTT FairladyZTT
Default Re: 02 R6 running poorly

Need to possibly get some gasket material from the auto parts store and some razor blades. Then just cut yourself some new gaskets if you can't find a kit. But the carb should be cleaned before you take them to be sync'd. That and with a carb engine on a bike... I think that with the higher revs.. It is supposed to be getting the ram air effect. Which at a stand still is not happening.

I am not positive though, so take what I am saying with a grain of salt as I primarily work on fuel injected bikes.