Notices
Automotive Discussion Automotive talk that is not technical can be posted here. Posts must address the general population.

Vtec into a non Vtec car

Old 09-16-2009, 03:47 PM
Registered Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
96slow6 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Vtec into a non Vtec car

Ok. I have a few questions. I am new to working on a honda obviously so this things may seem simple or obvious to you.

I Drive an 03 Z06 vette so chevy is my main knowledge base.

Ok so to the point.

I am helping a buddy swap out the engine from an 02 civic ex non vtec 1.7L. He ordered an engine on line and the new engine is from an 03 car and is a Vtec engine. I know the transmission and everything will swap. Its a 5 speed car. My questions are:

1. Will the engine work simply by installing it and not worrying about the vtec solenoid but leaving it installed?

2. Do I have to wire in the Vtec solenoid?

3. If I have to use the Vtec do I need the ECU from an 03?

4. If I do not have to use the Vtec do I need to swap over the injectors from the original engine?

I figure you guys are getting the idea at this point. I am just wondering what his options are at this point.

Thanks in advance for any help you folks can offer.
Old 09-16-2009, 04:17 PM
Zerofucksgiven

Cyanide Jello Cyanide Jello Cyanide Jello Cyanide Jello Cyanide Jello Cyanide Jello Cyanide Jello Cyanide Jello Cyanide Jello Cyanide Jello Cyanide Jello
Default Re: Vtec into a non Vtec car

Someone correct me if I'm wrong but you may need the ECU from the vtec car and you'll need to wire up the vtec solenoid...
Old 09-16-2009, 04:18 PM
Registered Member