Notices
Automotive Discussion Automotive talk that is not technical can be posted here. Posts must address the general population.

Illegal Exhaust ticket, what to do?

Old 04-05-2003, 08:14 PM
Drag757.com Alumni

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
G32BTurbo G32BTurbo
Default Illegal Exhaust ticket, what to do?

So I'm drivin down Big Bethel minding my own, doin the speed limit and i see a cop in my rearview. I'm like, whatever I'm not speeding or anything, jus on my way home. And then I see him put the lights on, I'm like what the fuck? So i pull over and wait to see what hes pulled me for. "Sir you have an illegal aftermarket exhaust. Your muffler is aftermarket there for its illegal. I could hear it a couple feet away."

I know its "illegal", but how come no one has ever givin two shits about it before? I've been driving with it for 2 years, I've passed many cops and they didnt do anything. I've had cops follow me and they didnt do anything. I wasn't speeding, I was following all the rules. I had gotten pulled for speeding in newport news and he gave me a warning and didnt give me an illegal exhaust ticket. I have a turbo, and stock catback, my muffler isnt loud.

Under the Law Section he put (21.1) 46.2-1049. SO what should I do? Go to court, or pay the fine? This is my first offence ever. Will this go on my record, will my insurance rates go up?? Any info/advice will be helpful.
Old 04-05-2003, 08:21 PM

lancerEVOVII is an unknown quantity at this point

i know people brought in pics of their mufflers with silencers on it and had it db tested and judge dropped it but i have no idea never happened to me dont have my exhuast yet
Old 04-05-2003, 08:22 PM
Registered member

socket_ has disabled reputation

before everyone tells you ways to get out of it, just pay the fine.
Old 04-05-2003, 09:13 PM
Banned

thelastmirage is an unknown quantity at this point

take a pic of your car with a stock muffler and tell the judge you changed it back to stock.
Old 04-05-2003, 09:24 PM