VADriven.com Forums

VADriven.com Forums (https://www.vadriven.com/forums/)
-   Automotive Discussion (https://www.vadriven.com/forums/automotive-discussion-8/)
-   -   Car Decision (https://www.vadriven.com/forums/automotive-discussion-8/car-decision-490304/)

Fordgt38 10-02-2015 08:08 AM

Car Decision

So, little background here is I'm a college student who needs a reliable and relatively cheap car (3,000 or under), but also wants something a little sporty but can't decide what's the right choice for me. I'm mainly looking at 90's cars specifically Civics, Integras, Miatas, and 240sx. I don't know much about reliability for the miata but willing and needing to hear opinions as to what would be the best choice, suggestions are welcome but I'm an import car guy not a domestic car fan.

A34 10-02-2015 07:01 PM

Re: Car Decision

Pretty much any 240 you see for 3 grand is beat to absolute shit, or an unfinished project. I'd stay away from those but that's just me. I think a Miata is a good choice, just make sure you find one that doesn't have a lot of rust. You could also find a relatively decent Jeep Cherokee (XJ) for that price range if you're into those.

POS DSM 10-02-2015 07:55 PM

Ferrari F40

Yardjass 10-02-2015 09:11 PM

Originally Posted by POS DSM (Post 8364930)
Ferrari F40

You must spread some reputation around before giving it to POS DSM again.

Fabrik8 10-03-2015 06:41 AM

Originally Posted by Fordgt38 (Post 8364896)
a reliable and relatively cheap car (3,000 or under),

There's usually a lot of conflict there. The more money you can spend now, the less money you'll have to spend later when trying to keep a $3k running. Be prepared to work on whatever you buy, because age and mileage aren't going to be on your side...

You need to start with some realistic expectations about what a $3k starting point is going to get you...

Reloaded 10-03-2015 10:10 AM