Notices
Automotive Discussion Automotive talk that is not technical can be posted here. Posts must address the general population.

Considering a budget dedicated track car, need a sounding board

Old 09-06-2015, 11:26 AM
master debater

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
blackout blackout blackout blackout blackout blackout blackout blackout blackout blackout blackout
Default Considering a budget dedicated track car, need a sounding board

Alright vadriven'ers and hopefully some legacy dragva'ers that I haven't pissed off too much in the past... This may seem ridiculous for anyone paying attention to the BMW thread but yes, a little over two weeks since I leased an M4 I'm deeply considering buying something I can toss around a track.

My thought process is that since I'm still a complete noob on a racetrack, the M4 is entirely and utterly overkill. That and since it's a lease I'm less inclined to drive it all over the eastern seaboard to attend the several track events I'd like to each season. I'm thinking I find something practical and reasonable yet still competent at the track on a relative budget- let's just say $5k or less unless someone can convince me otherwise but absolute max of ~$8k or so else I should just get rid of the M... which isn't happening. I reserve the M for one or two track days a year and for being the ultimately fun and refined daily driver that it is. Side benefit is that the majority of my seat time being in a car with lower limits, my driving skill progresses more linearly than it would if I were spending all my time driving the "race-bred track masterpiece" that is the M.

That and a set of 19" Michelin PSS alone would probably cost about the same as some of the cars I'm considering. The $5k Akrapovic exhaust that I was going to order is actually at the top end of my initial budget for a whole car.

So for starters, the short list of cars I'm considering are:

S13 240SX
Porsche 944
E30 BMW 3-series